Mar George Alencherry is elected as the new Syro-Malabar Major Archbishop

Thuckalay Bishop, Mar George Alencherry is elected as the new Syro-Malabar Major Archbishop

New Syro Malabar Major Archbishop Cardinal George Alencherry
Mar George Alencherry

Mar George Alencherry is elected as the new Major Archbishop of the Syro-Malabar Church. 46 members are participated for the election process including 13 Bishops. This is the first time, Syro-Malabar Church is elected the Major Archbishop. Earlier, Major Archbishops are appointed directly by Pope from Rome itself. Mar George Alencherry is the successor of Late. Major Archbishop Cardinal Mar Varkey Vithayathil.  The election was conducted top secret at the Head Office of Syro-Malabar church at Kakkanad, Ernakulam. Four rounds of the election was over on last Tuesday itself. The fifth round of the election was conducted on this Wednesday. The election process was completed on Wednesday evening.

The ordination process will be conducted 2:45 pm on 29th of this month at St. Mary’s Basilica, Ernakulam. The newly elected Archbishop Mar George Alencherry will be the Archdiocese of Ernakulam-Angamaly also.

Mar George Alencherry is currently the Bishop of Thakkalai which was formed on 1996 only and he is the first Bishop of that. He was born in the year 1945 in Thuruthi Parish of Changanserry Archdiocese. He got 2nd rank in Economics from Kerala University for graduation and also got first rank for Theology in Post Graduation. He got Doctorate from the Sarbona University of France. He was worked with Church in its different positions in the last many years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

To submit your comment, click the image below where it asks you to...
Clickcha - The One-Click Captcha
More in Kerala News (68 of 251 articles)

Total Seats in Kerala Legislative Assembly – 140 LDF – 68; UDF – 72; BJP – 00; OTH - 00 ...

Get Adobe Flash player